Adventures in Stand-Up

Ramblings, musings and diatribes on my experiences of stand-up comedy.

logo

Pav Rao

Pav Rao

BBC Radio New Comedy Awards – 2014, heats

My first go at the BBC's stand-up competition

BBC Awards

Competitions

BBC New Comedy Awards

In 2014 I was one of 80 or so new comics selected from roughly 800 people for the heats of the BBC New Comedy Awards.

On the day

My heat was on 8th September at The Comedy Store, Manchester. After we all got there we were taken to the backstage area, given a brief chat, then there was a lot of sitting around. We were also taken to the stage to see the lighting, have photos taken, a mic check, then back down to the holding pen. We also had a radio interview.

Good, but not quite good enough

I was very pleased with my performance and got lots of laughs, but unfortunately didn’t get through (there was one winner and one runner up).