Adventures in Stand-Up

Ramblings, musings and diatribes on my experiences of stand-up comedy.

logo

Pav Rao

Pav Rao

King Gong at the London Comedy Store

My first taster of the brutality of King Gong!

Competitions

First time at The Comedy Store

Gig 8 was my first taster of King Gong at the London Comedy Store, on 27th June 2011. The aim is to last 5 mins without all three of the random audience judges holding up a red card.

Not quite enough

I think I got to 4 min 52s. The first half of my act went down a storm. The second half, in fairness, was a pile of crap and so the goodwill I'd built up slowly dwindled to nothing and I was booted off.

A tough night to crack

I've gone on to do King Gong several more times. I did the five minutes just once and have had a few utterly horrendous nights there. Not always through my fault. I've seen some great new comics do sets that I know are amazing, but for some reason the crowd don't have the patience and get rid of them. It's always a bit of luck with which three people have the red cards too.